 The United Nations General Assembly will be holding elections for the non-permanent members of the UNSC.
 A total of seven-member nations are seeking a seat in the Security Council
 India and Mexico are confirmed for a seat being the sole contender from their regions.

UNSC which consists of five permanent members and ten non- permanent members will be seeking election for the non-permanent members soon. The election is conducted by the
UNGA who conduct the election by voting of the 193 member nations. The voting is conducted by secret ballot. The elected nations serve for a period of two years and are not qualified
for immediate re-election.

The elections for the non-permanent members were to be held on 17th of June but due to extraordinary circumstances arising due UNITED to COVID 19 pandemic, the General Assembly has
adapted the resolution titled, “Procedure for holding elections by secret ballot without a plenary meeting during coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic.”

According to these new arrangements the election for the members of UNSC and ECOSOC will be held concomitantly in June 2020.

Tijjani Muhammad-Bande, President, UNGA have UNITED announced that he will circulate a letter to all the member states of his committee, ten days prior to the first round of voting, the date
on which the elections will be held, the venue where the votes may be cast, number of seats which are vacant, and all other relevant logistical details.

It is further reported that the member voters will have to visit a predetermined place where the voting will take place. The voting will be UNITED cast during a specific time period at the informed date.

A total of seven nations are contesting elections. These nations are Canada, Djibouti, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, and Norway. Kenya and Djibouti are contending for the seat representing Africa. Canada, Ireland, and Norway are standing for the seat representing Western Europe and others. Republic UNITED of India and Mexico are unchallenged seeking election
representing the regions of Asia Pacific and Latin America respectively. The elected members will be beginning their term from January 2021.

Five nonpermanent members are elected every year by the General Assembly to the council.
In June 2019, the assembly elected Estonia, Niger, St. Vincent, and the Grenadines, Tunisia, and Vietnam to the High table. These nations UNITED had begun their couple year term from 01 st January 2020.

Belgium, Cote d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Poland, and South Africa are the present nonpermanent members to the Council.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts