COUNTRIES The Group of Seven (G7) is an international intergovernmental economic organization consisting of 7 countries- Canada, Germany, Italy, The United Kingdom, the United States, Japan, and France. These seven countries represent 58% of the global wealth (around $317 trillion) and are the largest IMF-advanced economies in the world. The European Union is an invitee to the G7.

Trump recently stated that he has decided to postpone the G7 as he believes that in its current
the format was a very “outdated group of countries” and it doesn’t “represent going what is going on in the world”. He hopes to invite Russia, Australia,COUNTRIES South Korea, and India to the summit but if it is unclear if he wants them to become permanent members or not.

Russia used to be a member back when it was called the G8 but was expelled in 2014 during the reign of former US president, Barrack Obama. This happened right after Russia annexed Crimea from Ukraine which it still holds today. Alyssa Farah, White House’s Spokeswoman said that Trump wants to discuss COUNTRIES China at the next summit. Trump has been attacking China over its handling of the Coronavirus pandemic which originated from China and has started the process of ending special treatment for Hong Kong in retaliation to China imposing new security laws in Hong Kong.

Trump had previously decided to host COUNTRIES the group of major industrialized countries in Washington to show the world that the United States is moving towards normalcy. Currently, more than 100,000 Americans have succumbed to the Coronavirus. Trump had tried to have an in-person meeting after the G7 meeting in march was canceled.

The idea was backed by French President Emmanuel Macron but Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and German Chancellor Angela Merkel declined over health-related dangers. South Korea has stated that it will discuss the invitation with the United States.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts